Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether the use of advertising skills is beneficial to our society or not. In spite of boosting the sales figures, the waste pollutants begot by commercials is now increasingly recognised by the public. This essay will discuss both views and use the examples from Hong Kong to demonstrate points.

To begin with, commercials that are shown on various media is intuitively perceived as a key of managing a business. The central reason behind this stems from the fact that the features of a product can be effectively promulgated, which then boosts its sales. In fact, the majority of manufacturers in Hong Kong purchased the prime time of TV channels for hosting their advertisement last year. Moreover, the colour and vibrancy of commercials, to a considerable extent, embellish our cities. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the employment of advertising skill is likely to foster societal development.

Although there is a case for advertisement benefiting a thriving economy, its ensuing production of waste cannot be neglected. This is largely because the images that are shown on these commercials are often more palatable and overstated, which in turn tempt customers into purchasing goods that are deemed redundant to them. For instance, the Consumer Council established that there has been evidently a surge in lodging complaints about misleading information on TV commercials over the past decades. Consistent with this line of thinking, the waste such as packing papers, plastic bags and the product itself would have significantly reduced if the content of commercials were supervised. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that the manipulation of advertising skills tends to weaken the effort spent on environmental protection.

In conclusion, the existence of commercials has a pivotal role to play in societal growth and business expansion, yet its downside regarding the far-reaching consequence of waste pollution outweigh its advantages. Given the increasing awareness on environmental protection, it is predicted that the use of advertising skills will be restricted in the foreseeable future.