Face-to-face communication is better than other types of communications, such as letters, emails, or telephone calls.

Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether direct communication or its counterparts such as emails and telephones is a better means of conveying ideas among people. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the discoveries from Hong Kong have provided some insights into this controversy. This essay will discuss both views using the examples in business sectors to demonstrate points.

To begin with, one of the most obvious benefits for having a direct communication is precluding both sides from being mislead. The central reason behind this stems from the fact that one can obtain extra supports from the medium other than the speech itself, such as facial expression and sketching on a drawing board. In fact, the majority of project managers in Hong Kong encourage a stand-up meeting in morning to have a face-to-face briefing on status of ongoing progress. Moreover, the ensuing efficiency of having a direction communication has been increasingly recognised around the globe, despite the arguments regarding physical limitation such as distance. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that direct communication is intuitively perceived as a stimulus of business development.

Although there is a case for fostering the productivity under the auspice of face-to-face communication, the upside of utilising communication technology cannot be neglect, in particular the use of email and instant messaging software. This is largely because such technology increases the likeliness of contacting partners who locate in faraway countries, which in turn paves the way for globalisation. For instance, there has been evidently a surge in the deployment of computers and smartphone worldwide since 2000. Consistent with this line of thinking is that electronic means of communication would be the dominant option for those multinational corporations necessitating constant remote interactions among offices dotted worldwide. Thus it is possible to state beyond doubt that the cutting-edge communication technology facilitates the business expansion.

In conclusion, both types of communication, to a considerable extent, are positive drivers for societal development depending on the situation, as a result, they are equally important to underpin the daily operation of a company. Given the prevalence of smartphone and other wearables, it is predicted that the employment of communication technology will grow in importance in the foreseeable future.