Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

Over the past decades, the possession of car has translated into a pivotal component of an average household. Alongside the changing need in the society, the latest sociological discoveries has casted light on the benefits and drawbacks of investing a car. This essay will use the examples from these academic work to assert that the advantages of owning a car outweigh its disadvantages.

To begin with, the ensuing convenience is intuitively perceived as the desired outcome of having a car. What this means is the stations or stops of public transportation could be far away from our destination. Even if some car parks might not be in close proximity to our locations, the walking distance required are still shorter at large. For instance, recent empirical research from the Road Department established that the average walking distance from a private car park to a major shopping mall is significantly shorter than those measured from metro stations. Seen in this light, it is undeniable that the convenience of driving could save us plenty of time.

Although the positive consequences are remarkable, the beneficial implications should not be overstated, in particular the financial cost induced in operation of a car. This is because the price of fossil fuel utilised by a car is deemed exorbitant. In fact, having conducted an extensive study, the World Commodity Group ascertained that the fuel cost has doubled over the last decade and is anticipate to keep growing in the subsequent years. Consistent with this line of thinking, it is broadly believed that the electric vehicles would have dominated the market if they had been invented in much earlier time. Consequently, the majority of car owners are now considering to replace their petrol-powered one.

In conclusion, there is ample evidence suggesting that both positive and negative impacts exist on owning a car, yet, given the advent of environmental-friendly vehicles, the upsides outnumber the downsides. It is predicted that the government will enact any measures to foster the replacement of existing model in the foreseeable future.