Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge, be levied for admittance?

Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether visiting artistic facilities entailing museums and art galleries should be charged. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the latest discoveries have casted light on this question regarding the operation cost and its uniqueness. This essay will assert that an admission fee should be charged for entering these buildings using the examples from Hong Kong to demonstrate points.

To begin with, the operation cost is intuitively cited as an evidence of charging admission fees of both museums and art galleries. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly the acquisition of artworks is costly. Secondly the pays supporting the operation of these facilities are significant. In fact, the annual report from the Hong Kong Museum Management Office established that the income from admission fees could effectively alleviate the financial stress of its properties. Consistent with this line of thinking is that the constant inflation would further strain the finances of these artistic sites. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that visitors of museums and art galleries should be charged.

Although there is a number of reasons supporting the existence of admission fees, the extravagant tickets can deter such artistic facilities from growing in popularity. This is largely because the metropolitan cities these artistic sites position often offer a variety of amenities with lower usage fees. For instance, study ascertained that the majority of citizens would rather spend their weekends on public amenities such as swimming pools, libraries and beaches. Admittedly, frequenting museums and art galleries begets a financial burden to most individuals; however, the uniqueness of their acquisitions is the key for running this kind of business. Seen in this light, concession could be offered to certain classes for an annual visit to museums and art galleries.

In conclusion, the admission fee is a result of the surge of running cost in museums and art galleries, even if a decline of their visits might ensue. Given the advent of Virtual Reality, it is predicted that more affordable visits will be available online in the foreseeable future. Consequently, it is possible to state beyond doubt that visits to museums and art galleries should be fully charged.