Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge, be levied for admittance?

Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether visiting artistic facilities entailing museums and art galleries should be charged. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the latest discoveries have casted light on this question based on the operation cost and the identities of its visitors. This essay will assert that an admission fee should be charged for entering these buildings, using the examples to demonstrate points.

To begin with, the operation cost is intuitively cited as an evidence of charging admission fees of both museums and art galleries. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly the acquisition of artworks is costly. Secondly the pays supporting the operation of these facilities are significant. In fact, the annual report from the National Museum Management Office established that the yearly income could alleviate the financial stress of the management team. Consistent with this line of thinking is that the constant upgrade of the security system inside these buildings would further strain its finances. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that visitors of museums and art galleries should be charged.

Although there is a case for imposing a charge on its users, the impact of admission fee of museums and art galleries cannot be overstated, in particular deterring the grassroots from visiting. This is largely because most families would spend the money on schooling, which then increase the likelihood of better living quality. For instance, attributing to their affordability, the majority of parents from public housing in Hong Kong have never brought their children to any museums or art galleries. Moreover, this has been increasingly recognised that the visitors of museums and art galleries are often highly paid. Seen in this light, it is reasonable to transfer the running cost to visitors under the "user pays" principle.

In conclusion, the admission fee is a result of the surge of running cost in museums and art galleries, even if a decline of their visits might ensue. Given the advent of Virtual Reality, it is predicted that more affordable visits will be available online in the foreseeable future. Consequently, it is possible to state beyond doubt that visits to museums and art galleries should be fully charged.