Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge, be levied for admittance?

Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have sparked heated debates about whether visiting of artistic facilities entailing museums and art galleries should be charged. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the latest discoveries have casted light on this question in accordance with the ensuing financial burden to the society and its uniqueness. This essay will assert that an admission fee should be charged for entering these buildings, using the example from this work to demonstrate points.

To begin with, the operation cost is intuitively cited as an evidence of charging admission fees of both museums and art galleries. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly the acquisition of artworks is costly. Secondly the pays supporting the operation of these facilities are significant. In fact, the annual report from the National Museum Management Office established that the yearly income could alleviate the financial stress of the management team. Consistent with this line of thinking is that the constant upgrade of the security system inside these buildings would further strain its finances. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that visitors of museums and art galleries should be charged.

Although there is a case for imposing a charge on its users, the impact of admission fee of museums and art galleries cannot be overstated, in particular deterring the grassroots from visiting. This is largely because most families would rather spend the money on schooling, which in turn, to a considerable extent, could improve their livings in the future. For instance, the majority of parents from public housing in Hong Kong admitted that they have never brought their children to any museums or art galleries, attributing to their affordability. Moreover, this has been increasingly recognised that the visitors of these artistic facilities mostly originate from highly paid professions such as designers and architects. Seen in this light, it is reasonable to transfer the running cost to visitors under the "user pays" principle.

In conclusion, the admission fee is a result of the surge of its running cost, even if a decline of the visits might ensue. Given that the advent of Virtual Reality, it is predicted that more affordable online visits will be available in the foreseeable future. Consequently, it is possible to state beyond doubt that visits to museums and art galleries should be fully charged.