Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge, be levied for admittance?

Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have sparked heated debates about whether visiting of artistic facilities entailing museums and art galleries should be charged. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the latest sociological discoveries have casted light on this question in accordance with the ensuing financial burden to the society and its uniqueness. This essay will assert that an admission fee should be charged for entering these buildings, using the example from this academic work to demonstrate points.

To begin with, the operation cost is intuitively perceived as a stimulus for supporting the existence of admission fees of both museums and art galleries. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly the acquisition of artworks is costly. Secondly the pays supporting the operation of these facilities are significant. In fact, the annual report from the National Museum Management Office established that the yearly income could alleviate the financial stress of the management team. Consistent with this line of thinking is that the constant upgrade of its security system meeting with the rampant crime rate would present financial pressure to the government. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that visitors of museums and art galleries should be charged.

Although there is a case for charging the visitors to counteract the exorbitant operation cost, the impact of placing an admission fee cannot be overstated, in particular deterring the visits of the grassroots. This is largely because families in penury would rather spend the money on education or investment, which in turn, to a considerable extent, could improve their livelihood in the future. For instance, being interviewed by the Hong Kong University, the majority of parents from public housing admitted that they have never brought their children to any museums or art galleries, attributing to their affordability. Moreover, there has been increasingly recognised that the Internet could serve the similar purpose of these buildings by sharing their live videos, despite the relatively poor tangibility. Seen in this light, it is reasonable to charge visits under "user pays" principle.

In conclusion, the surging cost of running artistic facilities increases the likelihood of charging its visitors, although the charge tends to lower the number of admission. Given that the emergence of Virtual Reality, it is predicted that more affordable online visits will be available in the foreseeable future. Therefore, it is possible to state beyond doubt that visits to museums and art galleries should be fully charged.