Different cultures are mixing today and the world is becoming a global village. Is it a positive or negative development in your opinion? To what extent do you support this development?

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether the formation of united community around the globe is generally positive or not. This essay will assert the notion that the ensuing downside given by this phenomenon is evidently outweigh its upside.

To begin with, blending cultures from foreign countries might damage local cultures. Admittedly, by sharing thoughts and cultural works, citizens who live in a cosmopolitan city can expose to various cultures, which in turn complement their own culture. However, compared with those incorporated merits, the intrinsic value that is deeply ingrained in the tradition of host country could become vulnerable. In fact, instead of practising calligraphy, which is one of the traditional pastime in bygone era, nowadays, juniors in Hong Kong frequent amenities brought by western cultures in their leisure time, including fast food shops, cyber cafes and cinemas. This results in a general decadency on traditional handwriting. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the development of the aboriginal culture could be hindered by globalisation in some regions.

Another implication that cannot be ignored is the societal disturbance. More specifically, the mix of cultures that is broadly begot by activities such as global tourism, student exchange and skilled immigration is often accompanied by the overcrowding problem. Take Hong Kong for example. Regardless of people identities, tourists and students are allowed to invest in the local real estate market, giving rose to the rent in both public and private housing in the last 20 years. Furthermore, the influx of mainland students creates additional demands on its local education system. Consistent with this line of thinking is that such phenomenon not only results in homeless or shortfall of educational seats for local students, but also add up to public riots and politic turmoil. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that globalisation has an important role to play in recent disturbance in some Asian areas.

In conclusion, cultural diversity can bring about devastating effects to local culture and impose a treat on social stability. It is predicted that governments will enact any measures to limit the pace of globalisation in the foreseeable future.