Different cultures are mixing today and the world is becoming a global village. Is it a positive or negative development in your opinion? To what extent do you support this development?

(Updated August 2018)

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether the implication of globalisation is overall advantageous or not. This essay will assert the notion that the detrimental effects of this phenomenon are now becoming increasingly recognised by the public.

To begin with, blending cultures around the globe opens the door to societal development. Firstly, with the demand of communication between faraway countries, communication technology such as video conferencing and instant messaging software has an important role to play in various business sectors, resulting in the technological breakthrough over the past decades. Secondly, instead of interacting with limited amount of people in isolated areas, citizens who live in open economy can broaden their horizon and this can help incorporating merits from various cultures. For instance, by comparing the lifestyle from the East and the West, doctors has established that vegetarian eating habit is likely to be a factor of longevity in some Asian countries. Therefore it is conclusively clear that globalisation enrich our lives.

Although there is a case for globalisation facilitating the social growth, the detrimental effects to local environment and culture cannot be neglected. In fact, activities that are connected with cultural diversity such as heavy logistics, frequent use of airline and global tourism have posed a threat on local environment on account of carbon emission and exhaust fumes. In addition, compared to closed economy, the majority of open economy have seen evidently a surge in demands of housing and commodities, resulting in economic inflation in some developing nations. Furthermore, the invasion of foreign cultures might deter the development of their local counterparts. Take calligraphy in Hong Kong for example. While a significant amount of people enjoyed calligraphy a couple of decades ago, cinemas and cyber cafes have become the most well-received amenities among juniors nowadays.

In conclusion, given the severity of housing problems in some Asian countries, the downside of globalisation somehow outweighs its upside, despite the ensuing colour and vibrancy. It is predicted that the government will enact any measures to ease the tension in the real estate market in the foreseeable future.