Some people think that companies and private individuals should pay to clean up the pollution that they produce, not the government.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether the cost of anti-pollution measures should be paid by individual and business sectors or the government. This essay will assert the government should play the major role in this topic.

To begin with, corporations and individuals have the responsibility to get rid of the pollutants. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly they are the major sources of the rampant pollution problem. In fact, by studying the figure from the Environmental Department, the majority of waste in our landfill originate from household and various business sectors in Hong Kong. Secondly, eliminating pollutants by charging its sources are often more efficient. For instance, instead of having an agency remove the waste at one's front door free of charge, those who paid for their waste can understand the severity of pollution to one's well-being, and this encourage them to use things responsibly.

Although there are reasons to have individuals and business sectors pay for its own waste, the difficulties cannot be neglected, in particular the differentiation of responsibility. Take packaging waste for example. The packaging material accompanied by a new iPhone is, of course, produced and assembled by the Apple company, while it must not be forgotten that the consumers drive the demands, resulting in a controversy of whether Apple or its consumers should be responsible for waste derived from the packaging. Furthermore, compared to charge the public individually, the government is deemed more sufficient and energy-efficient in waste control, because the government can lower the cost by assigning a team to eliminate waste produced by multiple parties. Therefore, it is possible to state beyond doubt that the government have an important role to play on reducing pollution.

In conclusion, government constitutes the most suitable role in reducing pollution, despite the fact that individual and business sectors are responsible for pollution at large. It is predicted that the government will enact any measures to raise the public awareness about environmental protection in the foreseeable future.