As cities expanding, some people claim governments should look forward creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population. What’s your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

Traffic congestion is increasingly entering our areas of lives. While few individuals may suggest to build more roads for the growing number of vehicles, there are few reasons why a better network of public transportation should be taken into consideration. This essay will discuss why we should establish a decent public transportation network.

There are various reasons why the number of roads need to be increased. For instance, the growing population begets a higher frequency of commute and more roads may reduce the time of travel. Many new roads do in fact give access to remote area of residence and industrial sites upon the expansion of cities. While adding new roads may be an easy option, the city council may want to consider other options.

Another school of thought is the benefits given by enhancing the mass transportation system. Urbanisation puts stresses on public transportation and, as a result, pollution in our cities is aggravated. It is well-known that cities that are bundled with complex traffic network are mostly suffered from air pollution. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that improving the public transportation that can help mitigate the pressure without excessive pollutants discharged should be a more environmental-friendly option.

In my opinion, enhancing public transportation is a superior option because of the additional environmental benefits.

In conclusion, this essay highlighted why, instead of constructing more roads, we should renew the design of public transportation towards the concern of urban sprawl.