Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.

• comics

• books

• radio

• television

• film

• theatre

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People’s life and way of thinking has always been influenced by means of transmitting information, known as mass-media. Although nowadays these can be available nearly everywhere, most of them are characterized by both positive and negative aspects. Books, television and radio are three different sources of information which people frequently use, but I consider that TV is, by far, the most useful.

Despite the fact that books are one of the reasons why trees are chopped down and some authors, through their writing, can influence negatively readers, books were one of the first mean of information. They can contain scientific data, results and representation, which are vital for knowledge. Take, for instance books with stories. These are red to most of the children before they fall asleep, contributing the way they dream.

On the other hand, although radio is available mostly everywhere, the lack of visual information is a huge disadvantage. Moreover, nowadays teenagers are not very interested in using such a mean and sometimes is found obsolete.

Since the appearance of television, the place of written and spoken sources of knowledge has been substituted. Data can be sustained by visual elements. Consequently, it is easier for people to understand a message because non-verbal aspects are involved. Moreover, technological advances contributed to the joy of watching TV. But, there are also some disadvantages which involve need for electricity and lack of portability.

In conclusion, each person can decide which mean of knowledge is more suitable. Although books and radios are still popular, my opinion is that the most efficient is TV. This is especially due to technological improvements which are made.