Competitiveness is a skill that is required in modern society in order to succeed. How does competitiveness affect the individual? Is it a positive or negative quality?

In this era of globalization, it has become utterly needed to possess a wide range of skills in order to have success, and being competitive is a crucial one. It is undoubtedly that this feature can substantially benefit individuals as well as society, and I will illustrate this in my essay.

To begin with, being competitive is a significant aptitude of a potential applicant for a promising job. For instance, if there is a high number of people that apply for a well-paid job, this trait can alleviate the road to success of the applicant, as corporations are seeking to find such employees, which can help in boosting the company yield. Moreover, a team manager bestowed with this skill can instill in his subordinates the sense of competitiveness, and this can lead to very good results in terms of profitability on the market.

Secondly, it is well known that without competitiveness, nations would fail to develop at such an accelerating pace. Take the example of the inventors who revolutionized the world, through the advent of the Internet, which has led not only to the growth of all nations, in particularly the underdeveloped ones, through improvements in international trade and strengthen the liaises among countries, but also to a higher education of the individual. In other words, without being competitive, the human race would lack innovation and the world would stagnate at an undesirable level.

To conclude, I would argue that competitiveness is imperative rather than detrimental, as it brings countless benefits for the future development of both nations and individual.