Over the years, the usage of technology has increased dramatically in almost all sectors including education. While many people take the addition of computers to the classroom as a positive development, others argue that it might have adverse ramifications for students. In this essay I will highlight both the views and give my viewpoint on the same.

To begin with, some believe that over exposure to any gadgets such as laptops or tablets will lead to addiction which might have inevitable effects on young minds. This is because the internet opens the whole world in front of a student. As a result, they get access to unrated sites and addictive video games which affect their character and make them lead a sedentary lifestyle. For instance, according to a survey, there has been a significant hike in health issues among teenagers over the years and the reason is the prolonged sitting in front of computers.

However, it is an undeniable fact that supervised access to computers for a limited amount of time can help students with their studies and pave their path to success. In addition, advanced technology does play a crucial role in educating and developing students’ learning potential. This is because students get access to more information than before which helps them to research and learn with just a click of a button. Websites like Wikipedia, National Geographic and other educational links can enhance their knowledge and vocabulary. Furthermore, due to globalization and hi-tech services, students can learn from any corner of the world sitting at their home. However, if this leads to gadget addiction, then it will affect their lifestyle adversely.

In conclusion, although the introduction of computers into the classroom does have some drawbacks, I believe that if computers are used for the right purpose, they will boost the knowledge of students.