In modern times, the development of technology, particularly computers, has increased dramatically in a profusion of fields, including education. While some individuals view this as a constructive trend, others have raised doubts that it may result in a negative outcome. I hold the first viewpoint and this essay will examine both sides of the argument.

Keeping an eye on the bright side, the development of technology allows learners access to an extensive range of information, far more than that in traditional methods of education. Obviously, online libraries make it possible to expose to a widely variety of fields, which are not available in printed books. As a result, students are capable of downloading needed information and storing up data. Besides, in consequence of exposing to computers on all occasions, learners have ability in computer-using, which is one of the most crucial skills in the recent society.

On the other hand, opponents of the use of technology in education argue that users have propensity for getting risk of engaging in online social evils. Students are believed to be susceptible to social evils through studying with mates in cyber space. Consequently, it can deteriorate their academic performances. Furthermore, it cannot be denied that distance learning deprives of some social skills. The prime example of this matter is that schools can assist students enhance skills like problem-solving skills and critical thinking skills, while the Internet slows down the processes.

From my point of view, I firmly believe that the merits of computers in educational purposes are outweigh the demerits. As long as students are able to control themselves and not misuse it, it is sure that computers will be a fantastic partner not only for students but also tutors in academic performances.

In conclusion, it seems clear that computers offer learners advantages in terms of knowledge and essential skills. Despite some negative points, I hold the view that it should be applied more and more in the 21st century.