Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

Nowadays computers play a big role in educational settings and school teachers as well as university professors tend to use them while teaching. Although some people believe that this might have some damaging consequences, others, including me, think that the presence of computers in educational settings can have a number of benefits.

Using computers at schools and universities will probably make the educational setting more environmentally friendly as students will be likely to use paper books and notebooks at a lower frequency. Every year a large number of books are printed on paper and delivered to students as a result of which a high number of trees are cut down. Using computers, students can have access to the PDF version of the books and make a huge contribution to saving the environment. Furthermore, computers can give students hands-on experience with the lessons they learn. Most engineering majors like electronics and mechanic require students to perform tasks using software such as MATLAB. If computers were not available at schools and universities, such students would learn these lessons at the level of theory.

On the other hand, some argue that frequent access to computers will result in some students using them for purposes other than education such as downloading movies and playing games, and will also reduce students’ interactions with their peers. However, these systems are usually linked to each other and are supervised by a central server which will most probably deter students from using them for their own personal tasks. Moreover, most school and university projects are done in pairs and groups which forces students to socialize with each other and this renders the concern for reduced

interaction insignificant.

In conclusion, although some people believe that computers might have negative impacts on the educational settings, I believe that the benefits are by far more than the disadvantages and both instructors and students are greatly assisted by them.