Computers are increasingly used in education, in which areas do you think computers are more important and in which areas are teachers more important?

With the advancement in the technology field, modern devices like computers are being made use of more and more for the purpose of education. In my point of view, while certain practical disciplines require extensive utilization of computers, the role of human teachers in the educational system cannot be neglected.

First and foremost, it is undoubtedly accurate that some subjects cannot be taught successfully without the use of computers. In subjects such as IT or computer science, excelling solely in theoretical knowledge is not as crucial as experiencing and solving realistic problems. A prominent example is coding, in which computers are fundamental tools for students to apply learnt skills on. It is completely understandable to me that computers are vital in these areas of education.

However, there are subjects in which human instructors and methodology experts are more adequate than computers. To cite an example, philosophical concepts are incredibly complicated, confounding and even sometimes based on personal perspective, which is why human teachers are necessary. Moreover, in these types of subjects, there is a great correlation between the teachers’ approach and delivery and students’ acquisition. Furthermore, in theoretical natural sciences where students need to thoroughly understand certain basic principles such as physics and chemistry, human teachers are also requisite. When studying chemistry, reactions’ mechanism, for example, is not a simple notion and includes too many variables for a programmed machine to deal with successfully. Therefore, in terms of theoretical-based subjects, the role of teachers is paramount.

In conclusion, I am convinced that in practical-based subjects such as computer science, computers need to be utilized in order to reinforce students’ learnt skills, whereas in theoretical ones, human teachers with proper pedagogical skills are indispensable.