Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on more important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the recent years, it has become a topic of debates as a section of society believes that the science of food should be included in the academic curriculum and students should be classically trained on how to build a balanced diet for themselves. Meanwhile, others argue that it is a waste of time. Even though both points of view are sensible, I firmly support the idea of studying the science of food and how to prepare it at a young age.

On the one hand, opponents of investing students’ time in culinary-related programs claim that there have already been numerous subjects and activities which play more pivotal roles in educating pupils than food science such as mathematics, IT, or literature. Moreover, most schools offer canteens where students can be served a wide range of healthy and nutritious meals. Therefore, nutrition study is not necessary and should not be made an official subject in the syllabus.

Conversely, proponents of this proposal believe that it will bring a number of advantages. Firstly, food science is closely related to the study of human biology, including the working mechanism of the immune system and the body's need for a balanced diet. By acknowledging accurate nutrition facts students realize the adverse effects that junk food has on their bodies, which is also an extremely practical solution to mitigate the problem of obesity among youngsters. Secondly, food science is also linked to biochemistry. For that reason, enrolling in culinary courses helps expand knowledge on artificial coloring, flavoring and preservatives, so that learners can read food labelings and control what they consume more efficiently. Lastly, understanding the importance of food science prepares school-aged teenagers for the real world. As adults, they will have to take care of themselves, in which process developing healthy eating habits is a key factor.

In conclusion, I personally agree with the opinion that nutrition-related programs should be made compulsory in schools as it is realistic, useful and prepares adolescents for adulthood.