Although most people are richer than in the past, modern life seems very stressful, and the number of people suffering from stress is at record levels. What are the main causes of stress in modern life, and how could stress be reduced?

With the rapid developments of the society, especially the economics, people are becoming more and more wealthy, which raised the living standards considerably. Surprisingly, in such fulfilled conditions, the rates of people who are stressed and vulnerable is unfortunately at its peak. In this essay, I will discuss some possible causes of stress in modern days and propose some suitable solutions to this complicated, yet extremely urgent problem.

One of the main reasons why so many people are under stress these days is that high expectations and competitiveness appear in every aspect of our lives. Students are expected to achieve excellent grades and made it to prestigious, top-ranking colleges. Mean while, adults are required to be steel-collar workers to be able to support themselves and their families. Besides, peer pressure may be another source of strain. People can easily feel insecured, that they are less competent and worthy than someone else, which is incredibly toxic and damaging to their self-esteems. Not only that, with social media becoming increasingly popular amongst all ages, we are being negatively influenced on by unrealistic standards set by society. Solving this problem need more than one answer. Firstly, the government should set limited working-time at offices and schools. Parents should also encourage children to take part in extra-curricula activities, allow them to pursue their reasonable passions and be more understanding. Authorities and organizations should create campaigns and projects which help the public learn about self-love in order for them to be more aware of their own worth and capabilities. Big influencers on social media can contribute to to reducing stress and pressure by giving motivational words to their audience as well.

Another reason why the number of people suffering from stress is at record levels nowadays, is the lack of therapy treatment and the ignorance toward mental illnesses. Many people suffer from mental illnesses and stress without acknowledging. Furthermore, private therapy sessions are rather expensive , so not a lot of people are capable of affording them. To tackle this problem, the government should put out mass, national campaigns, in which people are offered free, proper treatment and consultation about stress. Moreover, at schools, apart from a consultant, teachers should be trained to pick up signs from their students' attitude and behaviours.

Last but not least, the surrounding environment contribute greatly to your spirits as well. Living in a mega city with daily traffic issues, serious pollution, high crimes rate, lack of trees or relaxing spots is definitely more stressful than that in a peaceful, suburban area. In addition, small and messy places affect badly on moods. A solution to this problem might be to go out and exercise more regularly. This can both lighten up your mood and reduce stress, alongside with keeping you in perfect shape.

All in all, in my view, stress is a problem for the whole society to solve. This is a serious issue and we need to shed some more light on it.