The environmental problems facing today’s world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. Governments and large companies should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

At this moment in time, in contemporary cities, damages done to the environment are getting out of control and are proning both people’s health and living conditions into many severe circumstances. Responding to this situation, many people say that there was little ordinary people could do and big organizations such as governments and large firms should shoulder the responsibility. I do not entirely agree with this statement. In this essay I plan to make myself clear with suitable examples.

Firstly, Earth’s population is now so massive that each individual’s act toward nature matters. To cite an example, millions of people commuting to work on private conveyances daily, discharging trillions of tons of poisonous exhaust gas into the atmosphere, causing catastrophic air pollution. Subsequencely, the environment is severely damaged by one small regular transaction that many of us take part in.

Moreover, instead of carrying out theorical research, many ordinary people get to experience the horrifying reality of environment-related issues. Those people are capable of providing scientists and agencies with reliable information and suggesting feasible solutions to problems around themselves. A prominent example is Morgan Vague. She is a biology major whose hometown is Houston, Texas - one of the most polluted city in the USA. Growing up in such conditions inspires her to carry out studies on bacterias’ ability to consume plastics as food.

However, I do think that large firms and governments should play a bigger role in the process of reducing the amount of damage done to nature. Big companies should invest more in researching and putting out eco-friendly products, while the government should fund ecological study programs and reduce tax on certain environmentally-friendly products to encourage citizens to consume them. Furthermore, restrictions should be placed so that the general public are more concious about their act toward nature.

In conclusion, although the general public has impressive contribution on solving environment issues, influencing organizations should show larger consensus in saving our planet.