These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this and what are the solutions?

A generation ago, teaching was a respectable and prestigious job, and that is still true in some regions and countries. Unfortunately, recently, the number of young people wanting to pursue the career of teaching has decreased drastically. In this essay, I will discuss some causes to this problem and propose some solutions to them.

One of the main drawbacks of being a teacher is low salary. Comparing to other careers in laws or medicines, teaching is definitely not a lucrative job. Some graduates say that, with the same degree in mathematics for example, they can earn twice or even three times more than being teachers if they work in marketing or accounting. An obvious solution for the government is to raise teachers' pay significantly in order to attract more people in to the profession.

Another cause to their teacher shortages is students' bad behaviour at schools. Teachers have to deal with students disobeying and being rude to them almost every day, and it can be stressful. This can even intensify to the point some teachers have to sadly, quit teaching. To tackle this complicated issue, parents must educate their children properly so that they are well-mannered respect the teachers at school.

Furthermore, the work burden on the teachers is undeniable. Not only they are constantly snowed under paper work, they have to pay close attention to their students' physical health, mental health, behaviours, etc. to offer proper consultations and orientation. The way forward might be to employ more teaching assistant labors to reduce the burden and help teachers balance their work and personal life more easily.

To sum up, teaching is a demanding job. A good teacher does not just provide students with proper academic knowledge, he or she also has to be able to inspire and motivate his or her students to do better in life. To be capable of doing so, teachers need to be more well-paid, well-respected and well-assisted. Once society provided them with such things, young people would certainly be more interested in being a teacher in the future.