The unlimited use of cars may cause many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce the problems, should we discourage people from using cars?

With the speeding-up of living rhythm in today’s world, especially in big cities, having a car has become an essential part of many people's lives. It offers flexibility and provides ready access to many work and leisure options. However, recently, a range of induced innumerable by-products associating with the uncontrolled increase in use of cars have surfaced and need to be addressed. In this essay, I plan to identify those complicated problems and propose some feasible solutions to them.

Firstly, the widespread use of cars is one of the main causes to cities' catastrophic air quality. Exhaust gas emitted by car engines discharge large amounts of poisonous gas such as carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, carbon monoxide, etc. and many more. These toxic chemical compounds can lead to air pollution and can be harmful to people's health if they are usually exposed to it, causing respiratory issues and even lung cancer. According to a study, exhaust gas from motors' engines in general shoulders the responsibility for 30% of air pollution in Hanoi. The overuse of cars in big cities not only affect negatively on the environment, but also our own health.

Another negative aspect of using cars unlimitedly is traffic congestion. Citizens of metropolises have now gotten used to being stuck in seemingly inescapable jams. It is claimed that people often spend two to three hours commuting to work and getting home. Recently in Hanoi, residents even experience traffic jams outside of rush hours.

To alleviate these problems, many suggest the government impose a strict restriction on the use of cars. From my point of view, this is not a suitable solution. Discouraging or forbidding people to use cars on certain days can result in a decline in the car manufacturing industry, which is one of the most important industries in some countries. Moreover, cars' mobility can be significantly helpful to people's lives. To tackle this complex issue, the government should encourage car manufacturers to come out with more environmentally-friendly and affordable car lines. Furthermore, improvements on the public transport system need to be made immediately, so that it attracts more people into using it instead of driving cars.

To sum up, though it is true that cars have played a crucial role in people's life ever since they were invented, the uncontrolled overuse of cars can be damaging to society by causing air pollution, traffic congestion and many more issues. In order to solve those problems, discouraging people to use cars is definitely not a permanent cure. Instead, I deem that we should make cars that run on solar or electrical energy and improve the public transport system.