Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas are used in many countries. The use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power is encouraged. Is this trend a positive or negative development?

Ever since fossil fuels were discovered, they have become extremely helpful to society's development. Humans use fossil fuels to run motors in cars, or to generate electricity in thermal power stations and many more as fossil fuels play a crucial role in various industries. As the demand of energy worldwide is increasing, the strains on the existing and already limited resources also sky-rocket. With the advancement in the technology field, alternative sources of energy such as wind or solar power are now capable of replacing fossil fuels and switching to these type of energy are strongly encouraged. In my opinion, this trend is a positive development. In this essay, I plan to support my statement with clear evidences and examples.

Firstly, by alternating coal and oil with wind or solar power in certain circumstances, the use of unrenewable resources can be significantly reduced so that we can invested more of them in more important projects such as space explorations or prehistoric researches. Nowadays, most fossil fuels are utilised in transporting or generating electricity, which can be quite wasteful as renewable energy sources perform just as well. A research shows that in 2014, the USA consumed the most oil with just under 1 billion litre, most of which spent of producing petrol for cars. Overall, reducing the use of fossil fuels benefits humanity by saving energy sources for industries in which coal and oil are irreplaceable.

Moreover, overusing and over-exploiting fossil fuels cause multiple types of pollutions. Exhaust gas emitted by car engines engine discharges large amounts of poisonous gas such as carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, carbon monoxide, etc. and many more. These toxic chemical compounds can lead to air pollution and harm people's health if they are usually exposed to it, causing respiratory issues and even lung cancer. According to a study, exhaust gas from motor engines in general shoulders the responsibility is responsible for 30% of air pollution in Hanoi. Exploiting oil under the ocean damage the living habitat of many sea creatures and transporting oil on ships pose a threat in catastrophic oil leaking accidents, which kills innumerable animals yearly. In general, using fossil fuels harm us in many aspects..

Another positive aspect about switching to renewable energy resources is that we are less dependent on fossil fuels. Countries such as Japan and Germany are not abundant in coal or oil. Because of that, they are totally dependent on the USA or UAE to import energy sources. This process of course costs enormous amount of money. Furthermore, fossil fuels need millions of years to form, it is universally acknowledged that they are running out. If we start investing into these alternative energy sources now, we will not have worry about the energy shortage anymore.

In conclusion, encouraging countries' governments to start developing alternative sources of energy in my point of view, is a positive move as it bring about many beneficial merits both at the moment and in the future.