Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on more important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different opinions about studying the science of food and its preparation. While some people believe that this is a waste of time, which should be spent on more important subjects, i agree that food science and preparation should form an integral part of the student curriculum.

On the one hand, Concentrating on more important subjects could support students in terms of their career prospect. First of all, Students who spend time on more important subjects raise the prospect of seeking the competitive dream job. Many important subjects such as computer science, finance, engineering or information technology are the highlighted point in the requirement of many jobs, because nations nowadays tend to invest in the new age of technology and industrialization, and therefore are in need of high-qualified workers, namely well-educated engineers or tech-savvy employees. For example, the job like bankers which have a highly competitive salary in the job market demands that students should be capable of not only financial knowledge but also logical thinking.

On the other hand, possessing a solid understanding of food and cooking can ensure not only healthier eating habits but also serve as a basic survival skill. Firstly, students can control their eating habits. For example, students who have versatile knowledge relating to nutrients are inclined to avoid precooked or packed meals due to ingredients containing sodium, sugar and high fat in favour of more organic food. As a result, although many students these days adopt a sedentary lifestyle, they are able to manage their weight because they have more control over what they are putting into their body. Finally, cooking is considered a survival skill, because they can easily adapt to an environment with no ready-made food supply. If a human has enough ability to survive in any conditions, they will be independent have a high sense of confidence which is one of the elements to succeed on the career path.

In conclusion, while some people suppose more important subjects should be prioritized in schools, I strongly believe that students should take the time to focus on the study of food for more healthy eating habits and lifestyles.