Many people put their personal information online (address,

telephone number,...) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks

or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, numerous people reveal their personal information and their daily activities on social media sites. From my perspective, I agree that this pattern of behavior harms individuals.

On the one hand, individuals who put their information on the internet are likely to prove who they are and to support their friends who need help. Firstly, people whose information is put online can make a good impression on recruiters and interviewers. For example, as their profiles and resumes on popular job-seeking websites, namely Linkedin, Boxvn are often linked with their Facebook accounts, it is beneficial for these people if their achievements are shown clearly. As a result, recruiters find it easier to contact and work with them. Secondly, people could help their friends in case of emergency. Indeed, putting personal information online may help their friends and acquaintances to find your phone number and to contact you when they have issues.

On the other hand, exposing too much private information to the public has far more disadvantages for various reasons. First of all, people are prone to being the targeted victims of internet-based crimes. For example, many internet-based criminals create fake accounts to grope fifteen-year-old girls and use the personal information of these little girls to harass them. Savvy hackers or high-tech criminals can easily steal bank accounts and trick people into giving them money. Secondly, by revealing private activities on the internet, people are vulnerable to cyberbullies. Because the internet offers countless bullies a shield of anonymity, they feel safe to spew negativity and attack a lot of victims without receiving the repercussions as these bullying activities were to happen in the real world.

In conclusion, although the idea of putting personal activities on social networks offers some potential benefits, I concur with the argument that this pattern of behavior is seen as a negative development.