In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the rising number of adults choose to live with their parents, although they have already finished education and found jobs. While this pattern of behaviour has some advantages, I believe that they are outweighed by its disadvantages.

On the one hand, conflicting views due to generation gap and privacy could be the problems that many adults have to deal with. Firstly, because young people nowadays perceive life different than the previous generations, they are likely to conflict with their parents in terms of love entanglement and lifestyles, and therefore the relationships could deteriorate . For example, while strict Asian parents reject the idea of love without marriage and having a kid, the majority of young people these days do not consider marriage as an essential factor with regard to their love life, but focus on emotions and moments instead. In addition, adults may deal with their privacy being invaded by their parents. Although parents want to know more about their children and how they are doing, some adults may find it irritating if their parents pay too much attention to their personal problems.

On the other hand, young adults want to feel loved and safe as well as keep memories. First of all, people are living in a complicated world, meaning that they have to face with many issues related to mental health, such as depression and anxiety, and it would be beneficial for these adults to have somebody to rely on and share their problems, simply because dealing with these problems alone is distressing. Indeed, sharing and caring bond the family members together, and therefore young people no longer feel lonely. Secondly, these adults make so many unforgettable memories in their house with their parents that they are not willing to leave them behind.

In conclusion, whereas I recognize the potential benefits of adults living with their parents, I consider it to be a huge advantage for many adults.