Many people put their personal information online (address,

telephone number,...) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks

or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, numerous people reveal their personal information and their daily activities on social media sites. From my perspective, I agree that this pattern of behavior harms individuals.

On the one hand, updating personal information online facilitates a superior experience for online shoppers. By associating personal details with exclusive accounts, consumers can make more convenient online purchases. For example, when people shop on e-commerce platforms such as Amazon or Facebook, their identity information has already been synchronized with their sign-in accounts during an initial by first registration, and customers therefore can skip the time-consuming data entry and transfer immediately to the final step of making a transaction. Thus, the buying process is expedited, fostering an overall convenient customer experience.

On the other hand, posting personal data on the internet makes users potentially susceptible to criminal and bullying activities. First of all, people are prone to being the intended victims of internet-based crimes. For example, many cyber criminals create fake accounts to groom fifteen-year-old girls and use the personal information of these little girls to harass them. Savvy hackers or high-tech criminals can easily exploit a wealth of vulnerable consumer data and trick people into giving them money. Secondly, by exposing private information on the internet, people are vulnerable to cyberbullies. Because the internet offers countless bullies a shield of anonymity, they feel safe when spewing negativity and attacking a lot of victims without receiving the repercussions as these bullying activities were to happen in the real world.

In conclusion, although the idea of putting personal activities on social networks offers some potential benefits, I concur with the argument that this pattern of behavior is seen as a negative development.