Many countries import large amounts of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Importing food from abroad is a growing tendency among a significant number of nations. While there have been some potential drawbacks, I believe that the benefits are more impressive.

On the one hand, imported food tends to contain more detrimentally artificial preservatives and cause rising competition among domestic and international businesses. First of all, as food-importing from a different country takes much longer to reach the final destination, numerous toxic ingredients are used to deter them from rotting. As a result, this is not often fresh and nutrient-dense when they appear at convenience stores and supermarkets. Secondly, domestic food brands can suffer from losing their market share due to globally attractive international businesses. For example, China has to battle with losing the market share due to the growing popularity of Vinamilk, which is a Vietnamese dairy product, among Chinese consumers especially Chinese parents who are impressed by its quality.

On the other hand, countless nations provide their citizens with diverse food cultures concerning the wealth of imported food. People do not need to travel to far-off places to relish food delicacies because numerous national food markets nowadays offer a cross-cultural representation of gastronomy. Therefore, people have a wide range of choices in terms of tasty recipes for all seasons. For example, in Singapore, a growing business trade of tropical fruits worth millions of dollars such as mangoes and watermelons from Vietnam and various livestock commodities from Australia.

In conclusion, although imported food causes some disadvantages for domestic companies and worrying artificial ingredients. From my perspective, I consider this phenomenon to be a positive development.