Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I believe in the fact that computer is one of the greatest invention in the world. In order to support this view, let me quote the sentence of Edsger Wybe Dijkstra, a Dutch scientist in computing science, once said: “Computer Science is no more about computers than astronomy is about telescopes”. This quote assures the computer’s extraordinary competence brings to human society. If we do not have computers that is considered like we look up in the sky with our naked-eye, we only see some basic sceneries such as the sun, the moon, clouds and tiny glowing dots. Our consciousness of astronomy is just there.

Thanks to the appearance of computers, the world had been getting some positive changes to two main aspects of existence which are material life and spiritual life. Initialy, approaching to the first aspect which is related to substances, computers have ability to make money and products in order to meet human needs. For instance, every countries in the world have their own money’s designs whereas people incapable of drawing billions of money paper, thus computers can help us program a huge number of blueprints for many denominations of money then operate the money printing line with just one press of “Enter”. In terms of manufacturing products, computers contribute to paint the item’s image so buyers can visualize easily the goods and decide what should they purchase. It is not only convenient for consumer but also save time and efforts for companies.

Touch on the spiritual life, computer changes the perception of human being, It not only helps us entertain and relax by connecting with people who are both acquaintance or strangers and playing games those are types of game that contain big data and can only be played on a computer, not any other types such as mobile phones or smartphones. But also enhance our knowledge about the world. For example, we can sit at home and know everything about the world through a computer screen, watching the beauty of our earth more clearly than doing the same thing through a phone’s screen. Moreover, we can find a lot of information that we need and update many hot news in the world.

In a nutshell, computer plays a vital role in our life. It creates the new ways the world operates, brings great benefits that we have never thought before and leads us close together. Our mission is keep improving its functions and training children how to use it for right purposes.