Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that computers are the most indispensable thing invented by humans within the last hundred years. From my perspective, I genuinely agree with this opinion. This essay will pen down valid support for my verdict.

Initially, I opine that computers greatly benefit social creatures by allowing them to multitask. Computers are developed to possess the capability of running a plethora of algorithms simultaneously, thus performing many programs at the same time. Consequently, working equipped with computers would be efficient and time-saving. For example, users can read newspapers and listen to the radio within a few clicks on the computer during the same time, which saves a considerable amount of time. By contrast, a printed newspaper or a radio could only do its sole function - just providing propaganda or entertaining audiences.

Besides, I hold a strong belief that the computer brings about profound convenience to people in terms of convenience. This is mainly derived from the fact that despite having been hugely born, computers are now resized to be more varied and smaller. As a result, these devices could be brought along virtually anywhere, even the most remote corners of the world. Take, the HP minibook, for instance. This type of computer, which was created by the same company, has a similar size to a textbook at secondary school. Therefore, it does not take up much space. Were the computers to be as big as TVs, their significance would be curbed. Moreover, in the past, people only could carry and share limited numbers of heavy books; however, nowadays computers allow students to share hundreds of documents within a short time without wasting any physical energy.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, I concur that computers are the most imperative invention within the last centuries because of their multitasking ability and convenience.