Many people say that cooking and eating healthily is better for individuals’ health than consuming ready meals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is appreciated that preparing and consuming healthy meals would bring more benefits to people’s health compared to having takeouts. From my perspective, I truly agree with this viewpoint. This essay will indicate some explanations for my verdict.

There are several drawbacks of takeaways in terms of food quality and the hygiene of the cooking process. Initially, regarding the adequacy in the nutrition of prepared food, as most ready meals usually contain high levels of added sugar and trans fat, the food is not at all nutritious and healthy. Consumers may consequently have excessive calorie intake and suffer from cardiovascular diseases or obesity. Besides, another overwhelming problem comes to kitchen sanitation. Most restaurants are advertised to have high standards of cooking hygiene, however, no commercial cooking process is flawless. This is derived from the fact that chefs have to prepare meals within large-scale settings for a long time, therefore hygienic mistakes are inevitable.

By contrast, cooking and eating healthily would be beneficial for the well-being of people as they can have control over their eating plan and food safety. To begin with, a person is able to follow a healthy regime with the right portions for every dish when cooking at home so that the nutritional value of the dishes can be altered in order to suit individuals’ needs. As a result, a healthy and balanced food intake can be achieved. Additionally, food quality is also a key advantage of home-cooked meals. This is mainly due to the fact that as people purchase food on their own, they would select the best nutritious ingredients available to meet their needs.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned reasons, my verdict is that cooking and eating healthily is far better for individuals’ health than consuming ready meals.