Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The computer is a great invention, also an important step forward in modern science and technology. From its appearance and existence to the present day, it is impossible to imagine a life without computers. While the invention of computers has been a boon to the mankind, but at the same time it must not be forgotten that the discovery of computers relied on many other inventions prior to it.

On one hand, I agree with the statement in the fact that computers have proved their importance by simplifying the day to day activities of people - like data storage, fast calculations. Besides, it also helps human discover many of new land, new world and have many achievements. For example, the advent of computers has helped humans achieve success in data analytics, development of robots and sending spacecraft to other planets.

On the other hand, modern computational technology is highly dependent various on other technologies such as microprocessor system. To illustrate, the entire structure of machine learning and man-made intelligence relies on the basic principles of microprocessors, logic and mathematics. Therefore, the computer act in a good or bad way is required highly efficient microprocessors and electronics in the computer system.

Also, with the rapid pace of their evolution, the underlying processors and data storage technology, for instance, have proved to be far more significant contributors in the technological advancements discussed in the second paragraph, than the invention of the computer itself. Even with computers running with advanced processors, data storage has no substitute. Therefore, memory cannot be supplanted with any other technology and is another equally crucial invention of the last century.

To conclude, the computer is one of the greatest inventions of human's life. However, we cannot deny the fact that there have been several other innovations like microprocessors, which need the same recognition.