Computers do help children to learn more effectively. On the contrary, their usage has a negative effect on both the physical and mental development of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

More and more people use electronic devices, especially computers, for work and entertainment in today's technology era. Children now often learn through computers, which seems to make learning more effective. Besides, the others think that allowing children to use many computers will affect their physical and mental development - I agree with the second opinion.

The first main pitfall is that using the computer for a long time per day affects physical health gradually. What will happen with the eyes if a child plays video games too much and spends a bunch of time looking at the computer’s screen containing many unstable transpositions, colourful visualization?. The answer is that child will suffer from vision problems such as nearsightedness, astigmatism, or farsightedness. Moreover, sitting in front of the computer for a while will lead to obesity, bone-related diseases due to limited body movement.

Mental health is another main pitfall if children use computers frequently. Specifically, long-term high-frequency computer use can lead to electronic device addiction. Some children tend to see hallucinations and have uncontrollable behaviours because they are too addicted to online games. In addition, immersing in the virtual world makes people gradually tend to be anti-society, so they are passive and do not want to interact with others. Finally, children's minds are very naive so that they cannot partly sense what should be learned online and what should not; therefore, when they see negative things online, they will be haunted, panic, and mentally depressed.

In conclusion, children should not have too much exposure to computers and networks; but instead, learn through direct interaction. They can learn by computer but under the supervision of their parents, who have the ability to perceive and distinguish right from wrong.