With the considerable benefits computers and the Internet brings about, they can completely replace the traditional roles of teachers. Do you agree or disagree?

Given the significant changes that computers and the Internet have brought to our lives, some people believe that they can permeate the classrooms and the presence of teachers will no longer be needed. However, I disagree with this school of thought for a number of reasons.

Granted, one might argue that teachers will be completely replaced by computers and the Internet. This is predicated on the assumption that their role is only transferring knowledge to learners, which could possibly be done much more effectively by computer and internet systems. Specifically, given the almost infinite amount of knowledge available online, just with a click of a mouse, students can learn a wealth of things, even those not covered in their textbooks. Teachers, on the other hand, undoubtedly could not reach the same capacity. This clearly renders that computers and the Internet could substitute the traditional roles of teachers.

While this may be true to a certain extent, it should be remembered that not all Internet or computer sources are reliable. In fact, many of them contain inaccurate and even misleading information, which can even hinder students’ knowledge retention. In addition, I note that learning with computers and the Internet is not suitable for all students. To illustrate this point, if students are not self-disciplined enough, they will easily end up squandering a great deal of time scrolling through their social networking sites or absorbing themselves in online games instead of studying. However, with the supervision of a teacher in a traditional classroom, this would perhaps be avoided. Therefore, it is reasonable to say that the roles of teachers are irreplaceable.