Consumer goods have become the most important part of human lives.Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Consumerism is a social and economic idology that encourage people to acquire more products and services in an ever increasing amount. In the current time of technological advacements, one of the most pressing concern regarding the given topic is that consumer goods: beneficial for the human lives or not? I shall explore the the some from various aspects in the following paragraphs.

At the begin, Consumer goods are the goods that are purchased for direct consumption to satisfy a human need or want. We can know that, there are many advantages of the consumer goods. Moreover, the first advantage of the consumer goods is satifaction. Most of the people consume goods to fulfile thier basic needs and for their own satisfaction. For example, people can consume goods to change thier lifestyle. Furthermore, in the modern ira, status symbol becomes the essential part in everyones life. In other words, people can consume more and more goods to upgrate their status at the higher position. For instance, a survey is conducted by the goverment that most of the people can consume goods to maintain thier status symbol.

In the contrary, there is also some disadvantages of consumer goods. The disadvantage is that people can waste money to buy new goods and throw their old goods. This is called as throw-away society. People can throw the old things instead using them properly because they want to make their standard high by consuming more and more goods without think about money wastage. Moreover, people waste our money on goods that they often do not need. For example, in the present era, mobile companies launched new brands and more featured mobile phones. Especially, young people can throw their old mobiles and buy new mobiles to show their status symbol.

As we have seen that, there are number of answers to this question. On balance, it is well said that earth can satisfy everybody need but not the everybody greed.