Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Advertisement is a powerful and persuasive medium that influences consumers in both positive and negative ways. In order to survive in the competitive marketing world, every company believes in advertising its product. Thus, it is undeniably true that advertisements have significant impacts on consumers. In my opinion, I believe that the excessive popularity of advertisements has adverse effects, but some measures should be taken to curb this issue.

There is no doubt that advertisements influence people’s minds. Several corporate organizations and local companies use advertisements as a way to promote and provide essential information about their products to consumers. For instance, there are companies that promote healthy drinks and immune-boosting medicines with the help of top celebrities. These advertisements create an illusion in the consumer’s minds that their healthy drinks and immune-boosting medicines will help them maintain their immune system and acquire a well-balanced body. Thus, people are swayed by these advertisements and instantly purchase such products. Moreover, the most susceptible target for advertisements is children because they lack the information and maturity to make informed judgments. In this way, they pester their parents to purchase those products. Further, stealth advertising and celebrity endorsements sway people into tempting and purchasing goods that they actually don’t use often.

There are some ways to deal with these issues. First, the government should impose strict laws and regulations on advertising companies to not pressurize the public to purchase unnecessary products. Advertising agencies should be aware of launching ethical advertisements. Furthermore, consumers should protect themselves from being persuaded by celebrity endorsements.

To sum up, although advertising is an effective way to increase a company’s sales and brand, they are more often than not a negative influence on people’s lives. I believe that governments should exert more regulations on advertising agencies to mitigate the issues mentioned above, and consumers should use their wisdom to purchase only the necessary products without being influenced by advertisements.