Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

It is without surprise to hear that many people are receiving lots of advertisements nowadays. I strongly believe that, regardless of their consent, people are being heavily influenced by advertisements, and it is a pressing need to implement governmental action to limit any unauthorized promotions.

Regardless of affordability and necessity, being convinced by the promotions through different media platforms, consumers’ demands are heavily influenced these days. Advertisements not only make consumers want to buy goods but also make them feel regretful if they do not want to purchase. As a result, they eventually become frequent buyers and end up buying things that they even cannot afford. Furthermore, over-advertisement also breaches consumers’ own discretion and privacy. They receive a lot of push advertisements from different media and farms, which the consumers did not consent for. The advertisers are breaking into the potential buyers’ privacy defense and sending relentless push notifications. Thus, the people are coerced in terms of both freedom of choice and privacy.

However, there are governments that can take required measures that could help to protect consumers. For example, the government could enact laws to prohibit companies from sending advertisements through email and instant messengers if they do not receive consent from consumers. In addition, social media platforms can provide a turn-off advertisement option for consumers to choose from. This not only provides a better customer experience but also avoids sending restricts advertisements to consumers who are not targeted.

In conclusion, people’s purchase decision is highly influenced by promotions. However, as most of these advertisements are unauthorized push notifications, it is important to have a proper law to restrict their privacy-breaching behaviors.