Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements?

In modern life, consumers are frequently exposed to a variety of ads from the industry’s competing agencies, with the extent of advertisements’ influence on consumer behavior up for debate. Despite opinions supporting the contrary, I am inclined to agree that advertisements’ impact on customers’ responses is profound and far-reaching.

For some, advertising’s influence is considered insignificant, or at least not as consequential as other factors are. A straightforward line of thought is that one may purchase something because of a specific need and not because of seeing an advertisement. In fact, this would apply to a large number of consumers’ decisions. Additionally, word-of-mouth may be another effective mechanism for driving purchases. People are highly likely to buy a product if a friend or family member recommends it to them. Because of these factors, it may be easy to dismiss the impact that advertisements have.

In reality, evidence points otherwise. Advertising can shape purchasing behavior by creating an emotional connection with consumers and drawing attention to the products in the process. Coca-Cola, for instance, once launched a promotional campaign by selling Coke bottles with people’s names on the label. This appeal to the masses’ sense of individuality and connectivity was an overnight success, as Coke managed to attract waves of sales from people who want to find their names and the names of those they care about. Furthermore, advertisements can tap into a generational desire to overcome geographical limits, deliver the message, and ultimately, the results. In the early 2000s, Apple launched a commercial where its product, the Mac, was anthropomorphized as a laid-back, easygoing millennial while its competitor, the PC, was represented by a serious, yet unassuming office worker. This campaign catapulted Mac’s brand recognition across the world and drove Apple’s market share upwards.

In my opinion, it is clear that advertisements have a powerful impact on consumer behavior. Such impact may be translated into either increased sales from existing customers or completely new markets.