As well as making money, businesses should also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some claim that businesses should also have social obligations. While I acknowledge that a major concentration of companies is to generate profits to better survive in a competitive world, I still hold the thought that corporations also should make social contributions within their sphere of influence.

On the one hand, it is rational that the primary objective of companies is to be more and more lucrative as this is not only a fundamental element of the existence of any business but also beneficial for society. First and foremost, having a financial abundance would support companies to avoid experiencing running out of capital, which can lead to some potential collapse such as bankruptcy and taking on risky debts. Indeed, for any business organization, money is indispensable to cover operation costs, such as employees’ wages and facility payments. In addition, in order to surpass competitors and hold a larger market share, it is required to have a huge amount of budget to implement long-term strategies such as product innovations and marketing campaigns. Secondly, it is undeniable that once a company’s development grows stably, it opens more career opportunities for people which reduces the unemployment rate. As a result, quality of life would be improved and the crime rate in society that has escalated in recent years would be alleviated.

Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned reasons, I would contend that because of the benefit for both society and the sustainable growth of businesses themselves, social duty should become one of the top priorities of any business. **Firstly**, those corporations that make a profit base on natural resources, for example, mineral or fuel manufacturers, aside from exploiting the natural environment, are highly responsible for maintaining the ecosystem balance. Overexploitation without any measure to restore the original environment and process industrial waste definitely impacts negatively the Earth and human life. And of course, it prevents such companies from a sustainable development goal. **Secondly,** if companies are enthusiastic about community projects, and corporate well with the government to establish charitable funds or environmental protection programs, this enhances business brand awareness effectively. As a result, they get very high credibility from people leading to an increase in sales. Moreover, such firms would be received government assistance for small and medium-sized enterprises, especially in the period that they are encountering various challenges and obstacles in the economic crisis.

By the way of conclusion, the costs involved in running a business indeed depend on profitability, so this thinking should be seen as a top priority. However, I am a proponent of making a dedication to citizens' benefits would strengthen the business existence.