Only government action can solve housing shortages in big cities

to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the high demand for housing in major cities can be only addressed by the government. Personally I think this is impossible for the government to burden such enormous responsibility and it is better to also involve the private housing sector in solving such problem.

One of the main objections to the sole governmental participation in housing section is that this can place huge restraints on the national budgets. This is because to accommodate almost every citizen’s housing needs, the authorities have to allocate many billions of dollars for constructing even affordable houses. More worryingly, such monetary pressure on a national budget will be detrimental, if the country is facing persistent budget constraints with a fairly large unhoused population, severely affecting the funding of other key areas. Conversely, if private property developers are invited to help alleviate urban housing shortages, the problem will be divided into more manageable parts. And each of them can be handled more effectively by different housing developers, significantly reducing the financial burden on the government while ensuring the balance between supply and demand.

However, the role of government in a housing crisis in urban areas should not be ignored as only can the government provide incentives and introduce policies for businesses and citizens to relocate to less populated areas. This is also the most crucial step in reducing densely populated settlements – one of the main reasons for the imbalanced relationship between housing supply and demand. More importantly, private housing projects should be monitored and checked thoroughly by governmental planners to ensure the good of urban dwellers.

In conclusion, the lack of houses in major urban settlements is an emerging phenomenon that cannot be mitigated by the government only due to financial limits but necessitates the involvement of the government and the public.