Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What can be taken to protect them?

With the ever intensified competition between companies, an increasing number of advertisements are produced to attract customers. Personally, I believe the widespread advertisements imposing a great influence on individuals’ life, and two measures should be adopted to protect consumers.

There is no doubt that people are affected by advertisings from many aspects. First of all, it encourages people to become consumerism. This is because advertisements are propagating an ideology than attracting attributes such as popularity and happiness can only be attained by purchasing certain commodities. Through encouraging individuals to buy these unnecessary products, it is highly likely that people will become over-consumption. In addition, advertisements hamper individuals’ self-esteem as they spread the concept that people need to adhere to certain social norms to obtain acceptance. For example, models in fashion advertisements are always slim and tall, impairing the self-confidence of those girls who are short and overweight.

In order to protect consumers from the negative impacts of advertisement, two strategies could be adopted. To begin with, the content of advertisements should be regulated. The strict rule applied on advertisements in China play a vivid example here. With the decrease of biased promises made by advertisements, people are able to make more sensible consumption decisions. Moreover, education is another efficient means because it enhances people’s awareness to choose products based on their needs. If consumers possess the capability to identify the differences between the real products and advertisements, they will not likely to spend money on non-essential products.

In conclusion, people are easily impacted by various advertisements, hence the content of advertisements should be regulated, and consumers need to be educated.