Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them

Currently, with mounting competition in business sector, majority of the companies around the world advertise their products in different ways. The targeted audience is profoundly influenced with these commercials. These advertisements are needed to be monitored to minimize its impact on society. This essay put forth some effects of this trend and also suggests some measures to it.

To begin with, nowadays, advertisements are ubiquitous, and different products are advertised in various ways. Perhaps, one of the greatest sources of such promotion is from the mass media, for instance, newspaper, television as well as the internet. Adding to it, to influence the viewers different strategies are followed that attract the customers. To enumerate, superstars are hired by the branding companies as ambassadors to promote their products. People idolizing their favorite superstars purchase the products endorsed by them and maximize the sales of these companies. However, along with material endorsements some bad habits are also promoted by media which is a big stigma on advertising firms. To explain, fans often follow their role models and copy their shown ill habits from their acts. For example, cigarette is often used as a prop in movies and drama, this lead youth towards smoking that is injurious to health.

On the other hand, despite many advertisements are aired and printed freely, measures should be taken to avoid consumers being exploited. First and foremost, legislation about the contents of advertisement should be created and enforced. This is clearly important as many companies tend to promote products which are disadvantages to consumers, such as cigarette. Another point to note is the law should state the advertisers must be honest in terms of the quality of the product or brand which they sell.

In a nutshell, it is evident that advertisements have made a great impact on consumers, as people purchase the items advertised on the television endorsed by superstar. This is however, must be controlled through legislation in order to protect the consumer’s right and safety.