Consumption of the world’s resources (such as oil, fresh water, etc) is increasing at a dangerous rate. What are the causes of this increased consumption? What can people do to reduce it

These days, the over-consumption of national resources becomes a major concern in a global. There are a majority of reasons which contribute to this increasing rate in using resources, including the development of the modern industries, the ways of people living their lives and so on. However, we can also take some measures to mitigate this problem.

In some developing countries, most of these industries cannot live without fossil resources. the development of industries is the lifeblood of the economy, and in order to increase their productivity, the priority is to use more and more resources. For example, countries who want to export their product like clothes will cost a large amount of oil and water, which are an essential part of preparing clothes. In particular, the increasing needs will motivate the demands for energy. As a result, the development of the economy will witness the rate of consumption of resources increases.

Another reason is that People have not yet realized that their ways of life will lead to energy overconsumption. People are likely to use products only once instead of keeping these items for a long time. For instance, some electronic products such as mobile phones and computers are now sold at low prices, and many people would purchase the newest products, instead of fixing broken ones. Young people, in particular, prefer to purchase the latest mobile phones with up-to-date features and throw old ones away. In contrast, if they can try to keep using their old one or fix it, the demands for electronic products will decrease. As a result, at least, the resources for producing these products will be mitigated.

As the overconsumption of resources is pervasive, it is important to take some measures to mitigate this problem. The first one is to raise environmental awareness, educating people to change the ways they use and dispose of different products. Governments can also enforce some laws to limit consumers and companies in the demands for products and resources respectively. For example, the tax penalty can be imposed on the use of some products, including plastic bags, thereby encouraging people to use eco-friendly alternatives.