The cost of living is higher in many countries. What are the effects of higher prices to individuals and society? What is the best way for people to deal with this problem?

Along with the rapid growth of the economy, the money spent on accommodation, food and bills has increased significantly. In the scope of this essay, several detrimental effects on individuals and the whole society caused by this matter of fact are addressed and effective solutions are suggested.

From the perspective of a single person, the increasing of budget which is used to cover daily basic needs may cause anxiety and stress on middle and lower class people. This situation will trigger people to seek for second jobs in order to fulfill daily requirements and therefore lead to a decrease in the rate of pleasant among family members due to heavy workload and the lack of time to care about each other. Moreover, if the inflation get worse but one can not be able to look for another income beside the conventional one, he might get into criminal life and stuck in such issue for goods. It is understandable that the incentive to become a thief is the shortage of money for medical care for his parents or his child, which can be recognized in the case of Ho Van Luyen.

The effect of higher living cost on the society should be thoroughly considered. As mentioned above, this fact may result in an increase of criminals which will raise alarming concern about the safety level among citizens. Moreover, the number of tourists may declined dramatically and therefore, the amount of money taken from this source will decreased which leads to low taxes and thus poor public services. For instance, when a man killed his sister due to the the conflicts in inheritation in 2005 in Binh Duong, despite the scenery beauty, the number of visitors to this place went down gradually causing the loss of nearly 5 millions USD on tourism.

Nevertheless, there are some measures that can be applied to mitigate the aforementioned issue. Firstly, as a customer, one must understand which goods can bring realistic valuation to them and which one only can only be used as decoration. For example, when it comes to choosing a cook, a housewife has to consider two main factors: the durability and the efficiency instead of its beautiful color. By doing this, we can save more money for medical care and entertainments thus reduce the stress levels. Secondly, as a businessman, one should apply experts to improve his technologies in order to lower the cost on manpower and energy consumption. In this sense, not only the business itself gain certain benefit, the product’s price also drops considerably.

In conclusion, higher living cost will do harm to individuals and the society as the whole. However, there are many proper remedies that can be applied to solve this problem.