Countires are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

The world is becoming similar to a little village where anyone is able to buy a certain product from whichever place on the globe with few mouse clicks on a computer. This has made everything easier and less time consuming while people seem to be always busy these days.

International trade has allowed new types of cuisines from other countries to be introduced to the market, such as thai, chinese and mexican food in the UK. It has also made exotic goods readily available in town, meaning that you don’t have to travel all the way to Iran to get a well woven rug.

It is sometimes argued that the flood of new foreign items has made some communities lose their identity. For example the old-fashioned English breakfast is now replaced with the american cereals, burgers are now more common than fish and chips and lasagnes have made shepherd’s pie almost forgotten. However, the british were never known for cooking well and these can be viewed as an improvement to the food in our fridge.

Globalisation also facilitate exchange of knowledge making it possible to learn about other cultures and explore their past, values, beliefs and aspirations. This understanding has in its core the factors that can bring about peace among nations as violence has always been associated with ignorance and the alienation of other societies.

All in all, strengthening connections among countries is a part of our advancement as a species, therefore, it shouldn’t be taken negatively.