As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. In your opinion, what is this cause and what are the effects on society?

In this day and age, the size of families has changed with an increase in the number of nuclear families and individual types. There are many reasons cause this phenomenon, and the effects on society are mostly negative.

On the one hand, there are many factors causing the breakdown of the traditional family structures, ranging from social development to the change in public perception. Firstly, economic development brings a huge change in family life. As the social-economic development keeps unfolding, a large number of youngsters of the millennial generation opt to live alone in order to be able to fully enjoy their own life rather than be bothered with tedious household duties. Moreover, the position of women is higher than ever before which changes the family structure. According to recent research, due to financial independence and the high social position, the proportion of single-mom is ever-creasing.

As the structure of the family changes, the bond between members seems to become weaker which could cause a series of social problems. Firstly, loneliness and insecurity is a detriment that needs to be considered. Take Japan as an example, there is an increase in the proportion of elderly people living alone and lacking contacts with society, who after that die in loneliness and remain undiscovered for a long time. Moreover, children growing up in families with only a mother or father easily suffer from mental diseases and at risk of committing a crime in the future, as a result of the latest studies.

In conclusion, as a result of changes in lifestyle and economy, the nuclear family type becomes more popular and exert negative impacts on the community.