Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, in order to test the effectiveness of medical products before human use, a large number of animal experimentation is implemented. Although these experiments bring humans many benefits, I believe that scientists should emphasize more on ethical aspects and find alternative methods for drug testing.

In consideration of the biomedical aspect, there might be certain reasons why the researchers still do animal experiments. First, they are crucial for scientists’ improved understanding of human biology and health. For example, by studying model organisms, people have a clear understanding of the mechanism of the diseases. Therefore, they can develop new treatments, such as organ transplantation or stem cell. Furthermore, experiments involving animals are required for developing new medicines. Specifically, before being approved by the authority and launching, the drugs must be tested for their toxicity as well as effectiveness through conducting these trials.

On the other hand, testing on animals is believed to be a cruel, unethical, and pointless action. First, no matter how closely related the creatures are, their genome and physiological characteristics are still different from those of humans. To be more detailed, the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of drugs are not similar between individuals, so the medicines passing tests in animals may fail in the following clinical trials. Furthermore, there are alternative tests to qualify drugs. For example, scientists can alternative methods, such as in vitro model, to test medicine which provides faster and more accurate results. Last but not least, activists often argue that humans have no right to subject animals to trauma.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be wrong to ban testing on animals for vital medical research until equally effective alternatives have been developed