Some people from poor and rural backgrounds find it difficult to get a university education. Universities should make it easier for such groups to enrol. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is considered a fundamental element for assessing national development. However, evidently, urban students appear to be more accessible to higher education than their rural counterparts. That’s why setting a lower entrance standard to universities for far-flung people is believed to promote the educational system. I partly agree with this view; while it could create some positive outcomes, but not an optimum solution.

On the one hand, some argue that educational leaders and policymakers should provide undergraduates in rural regions with some exclusive priorities when pursuing higher education. Take Vietnam as an example, when taking an entrance exam, students would have plus points if they are in "special conditions” such as minority ethnic or living in mountainous areas. This policy is believed to bring equality between students in different economic-level regions as well as facilitating learners in far-flung areas the chance to access high-quality education.

Nevertheless, the purpose of the university is to provide high-quality human resources. If there is a certain percentage of entry into universities reserved for rural learners even if their academic level is not up to eligible standards required, it would exert negative impacts on both learners and the future national workforce. Instead, there are various effective and sustainable methods such as investing in the mountainous educational system, recruiting more teachers, or tuition fee exemptions policy. These measures not only enhance the educational quality in underprivileged areas but also create a competitive workforce for the countries.

In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that investing in educational facilities or requiring more high-qualified teachers rather than offering underprivileged children with exclusive benefits would create better results.