Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Many museums and historical landmarks are able to appeal to large numbers of tourists but fail to achieve the same effect when it comes to locals. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons for this before suggesting solutions to remedy this problem.

To begin, there are many factors responsible for declining rate in local attendance. First, some who live in this region seem to be familiar with their traditional customs and historical events. Going to these places seems to be waste of time and money due to the entrance cost, and absolutely people would not pay an amount of money for something they have already known. Moreover, the attraction seems to be stodgy and too traditionally educative to provide a convincing welcome to the locals. However, these places always pick tourists’ curiosity during their first trip.

Several measures can be prompted to promote locals’ attendance rate at buildings for historical relics and museums. First, those places should serve both education and entertainment purposes. For example, more recreational zones should be constructed to increase the number of locals coming and enjoying their leisure time. Besides, declining entry fees for regional people should be taken into consideration as a method. According to recent research, a decrease of 10% in entrance fees would enhance at least 20% of local people to come to these places.

In conclusion, there are two major causes that discourage locals to spend time in the nearby museums and historical landmarks as mentioned, and proper actions should be taken to attract people to go to such places.