In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first month after the birth of their baby. Does advantage outweigh disadvantages?

Around the world, many governments have started to offer extended, paid maternity leave. While some drawbacks could be seen from this phenomenon, they are overshadowed by the benefits.

On the one hand, the maternity leave policy has exerted negative impacts on both companies and employees. First, it requires employers to make staffing adjustments. Evidently, when an employee goes on maternity leave, the company has to implement a temporary plan to make sure a smooth flow of work. Consequently, with the added workload on other team members, the business may have to juggle with a potential dip in productivity. Regarding women, taking a long break may interrupt their careers and ultimately harm their prospects in the long run. According to recent research, the longer new mothers are away from work, the less likely they are to be promoted or receive a pay raise once their leaves are over.

On the other hand, a much-needed rest is essential after the rigorous process of pregnancy and child delivery. First and foremost, after giving birth, the women need adequate time to recover, both physically and mentally. In other words, the longer they take a break, the better health they have; therefore, they are more willing to dedicate their time to their work. Moreover, mothers taking a long leave is also beneficial to newborn babies. According to the latest studies, more time spent with children in their first year and especially in their first months has a positive impact on early child development. Last but not least, the maternity policy helps to motivate employees and increase their loyalty to the company.

In conclusion, when considering both the negative and positive sides of the maternity leave policy, I assume that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.